Support us

Center for Effective Government Welcomes Inaugural Advisory Council Members

CHICAGO, IL — The Center for Effective Government (CEG) at the University of Chicago’s Harris School of Public Policy announced the inaugural members of its Advisory Council. The nine members of the Advisory Council will use their expertise on democracy and institutional reform issues to help guide CEG through upcoming developments and new initiatives. 

The Inaugural Advisory Council Members are:

  • Ethan Bueno de Mesquita (AB’96): Interim Dean and Sydney Stein Professor, the University of Chicago Harris School of Public Policy; Faculty Associate, University of Chicago Department of Political Science.

  • Steve Edwards: Managing Director, Koya Partners. Former Chief Content Officer, WBEZ Chicago Public Media.

  • Galen Hines-Pierce (MPP’17): Independent Researcher.

  • Sybil Madison (CLA’19): Director in the Office of the President, MacArthur Foundation.

  • Rudy Mehrbani: Senior Director of the Governance Program, Democracy Fund; Democracy Fellow 2022-23, Center for Effective Government. 

  • Dan Porterfield: President & CEO, Aspen Institute.

  • Andrea Sáenz: President & CEO, The Chicago Community Trust.

  • Max Stier: President & CEO, Partnership for Public Service.

  • Dilnaz Waraich: President, WF Fund.

“We’re grateful to have such a knowledgeable and committed inaugural advisory council,” said Sadia Sindhu, executive director of the Center for Effective Government. “Since the Center for Effective Government was founded in 2019, it’s been our goal to build an advisory council that reflects the constituencies we engage with practitioners, civic leaders, and scholars.”

William Howell, director of the Center for Effective Government, said, “As CEG moves into its next stage of growth, we’re thrilled to have the insights provided by our advisory council members as we seek to strengthen our democracy and advance solutions for institutional reform.” 

The Center for Effective Government Advisory Council held its first meeting on Thursday, November 9th, 2023. 

Additional information on the Advisory Council members, including complete biographies, can be found here.

Press contact: Megan Busbice, Program Associate, Center for Effective Government